Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors


Supported by


SURE 2018 Athlone

Athlone Institute of Technology was one of the three venues for the Science Undergraduate Research Experience 2018 (SURE 2018) Conferences.

Students from the following Institutes of Technology, accepted as oral or poster presenters, presented at this conference:

  • Athlone Institute of Technology (host institution)
  • Galway-Mayo  Institute of Technology
  • Institute of Technology, Sligo

Two other SURE 2018 conferences took place at the same time as this conference in Dublin Institute of Technology (venue details) and Waterford Institute of Technology (venue details).


The event took place in the Douglas Hyde Lecture Theatre on the Athlone Institute of Technology campus.

Registration Details

Conference Schedule

See SURE18 Conference Booklet.

Award Winners

Best Scientific Oral Presenter: “Novel Technologies and Optimized Formulation for Delivery of Solid Dispersion of BCS Class II Drugs” by Lawrence Yee Foong Ng (AIT) and Clem Higginbotham (AIT)

Turning Technologies Best Science Communicator: “Novel Iron Delivery Systems” by Michael Greene (AIT), Patricia Heavey (AIT) and Clem Higginbotham (AIT)

AIT Best Scientific Poster sponsored by Enterprise Ireland: “Quality of Life and Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injury” by Melissa Heanue (IT Sligo) and Edwenia O’Malley (IT Sligo)

Best Poster by Popular Vote sponsored by the Irish Toxicology Society: “Sustained Delivery of Antibiotics in Animals using Novel Polymeric Systems” by Pearse Dolan (AIT) and Clem Higginbotham (AIT)


AIT SURE Network Organising Committee: L-R: Dr. Anne Friel, Dr. AnneMaire O’Brien, Dr. Therese Montgomery, Dr. Gary Stack.


L-R: Dr. Don Faller, Dr. Joseph Ryan, Dr. AnneMaire O’Brien, Dr. Therese Montgomery presenting Best Oral Scientific Presenter award (sponsored by Abbott) to Lawrence Ng on Skype from Malaysia.

L-R: Mark Atterbury (Enterprise Ireland), Melissa Heanue (winner of Best Scientific Poster award sponsored by Enterprise Ireland), Dr. Joseph Ryan (CEO THEA), Dr. Therese Montgomery (AIT).

Lisa Kelly, AIT postgrad helping out on the day in a packed Douglas Hyde Theatre as Abbott’s representative addresses the audience.

AIT SURE Conference 2018 graduate oral presenters (L-R) Ryan Gordon (GMIT), Lisa Anderson (GMIT), Niamh Higgins (AIT), Ciara Buckley (AIT), Ciara O’Meara (IT Sligo), Lucy Maidment (IT Sligo) and Michael Greene (AIT). Sarah Roughan (IT Sligo) also presented at the conference but was unavailable at the time of the photo.

L-R: Dr. Don Faller (AIT), Dr. Joe Ryan (AIT), Dr. Eileen Lane (Irish Society of Toxicology/AIT), Mr. Pearse Dolan (winner of Best Poster Award sponsored by the Irish Society of Toxicology), Dr. Anne Maire O’Brien (AIT).

L-R: Dr. Joseph Ryan (THEA CEO), Mr. Alan Duddy (Turning Technologies), Michael Greene (winner of Best Science Communicator Award sponsored by Turning Technologies), Dr. AnneMaire O’Brien (AIT) and Dr. Don Faller (AIT).

Invited Postgraduate Speakers with conference organisers: Dr. Therese Montgomery (AIT), Mr. Stephan McGirr (IT Sligo), Ms. Catriona Kielty (AIT), Ms. Kerrie Ni Dhufaigh (GMIT), Dr. AnneMaire O’Brien (AIT).

Minister Kevin Boxer Moran and Treacy McIntyre (AIT) talking science at AIT SURE Conference poster session.

Dr. Anne Maire O’Brien, co-organiser of AIT SURE conference meeting with Minister Kevin Boxer Moran in advance of the SURE Conference.

Minister Kevin Boxer Moran, Conference co-organiser Dr. Therese Montgomery (AIT) and AIT President Professor Ciarán Ó Catháin viewing posters at AIT SURE conference poster session.