SURE 2018 – Waterford

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors


Supported by


SURE 2018 Waterford

Waterford Institute of Technology was one of the three venues for the Science Undergraduate Research Experience 2018 (SURE 2018) Conferences. Students from the following Institutes of Technology, accepted as oral or poster presenters, presented at this conference:

  • Waterford Institute of Technology (host institution)
  • Institute of Technology, Carlow
  • Cork Institute of Technology

Two other SURE 2018 conferences took place at the same time as this conference in Athlone Institute of Technology (venue details) and Dublin Institute of Technology (venue details).


The event took place in the Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) Arena. WIT Arena is the largest sports, conference and events centre in the South East of Ireland. The Arena is situated on the outskirts of Waterford, just off the motorway exit, which makes it easily accessible to immediate city and neighbouring counties. This multipurpose facility will cater for a wide range of events such as recreational gym users, high performance athletes, multipurpose sports, kids’ activity camps, leisure and entertainment events and conferences.


Conference Schedule

SURE 2018 Waterford Conference Schedule

Award Winners

Best Oral Presentation Judging Committee Prize Winner: “Immediate-Early Genes and Delayed Primary Response Genes Regulated by NmU in SKBR3 HER-2 Positive Breast Cancer Cell Line” by Jessica Murphy (WIT) and Sweta Rani (WIT)

Best Oral Presentation Audience Prize Winner: “Comparison and Characterisation of Solar Irradiance Detectors, and Solar Irradiance Monitoring Station Development” by Siobhán O’Neill (CIT) and Eva Norris (CIT)

Best Poster Judging Committee Prize Winner: “Synthesis and Evaluation of Thiocarbonyl Compounds with Pharmacological and Other Activity” by Lucas Bwema Vandi (WIT) and Joe Power (WIT)

Best Poster Audience Prize Winner: “Extracting and Testing Antimicrobial and Antioxidant Compounds Found in Fucus Serratus” by Leonat Xhokli (WIT) and Shiau Pin Tan (WIT)


Best Oral Presentation Audience Prize Winner Siobhan O’Neill with Ken O’Shea, Head of Research and Development at EirGen Pharma. Photo. George Goulding

Best Oral Presentation Judging Committee Prize Winner Jessica Murphy with Dr. Niall O’ Reilly, Manager of PMBRC

Best Poster Audience Prize Winner Leonat Xhokli with Dr Gyongyi Lukacs, Field Application Specialist from BioSciences. Photo. George Goulding

Group Poster Presenters and Members of Organsing Committee. Photo. Patrick Browne

Mark Armitage’s Oral Presentation. Photo. George Goulding

Oral Presenters at SURE and Members of Conference Organising Committee Proup. Photo. Patrick Browne

Panel Discussion. Photo. George Goulding

Sophie Meehan discussing her Work

Jennifer Rice discussing her work. Photo. Patrick Browne

Sinead Daly Oral presentation. Photo. George Goulding

Dr Aisling O’Neill and Sinead Quealy. Photo. Patrick Browne

SURE Co-Ordinators, Dr Claire Lennon and Aubrey Storey WIT. Photo. Patrick Browne

SURE Judging Panel Best Poster Winner, Lucas Bwema Vandi discussing his work with Dr Denise O’Meara